Adapted from Pingiya’s Praises of the Way to the Beyond

We call him Bhante. Sangharakshita, Awake, dissolving error, with total clarity. Knowing the path to its ends, he has gone beyond most of the states of being and of becoming. He has no inner poison-drives: he is the near elimination of suffering. This man is the man I follow.

Like a bird that leaves the bushes of the scrubland and flies to the fruit trees of the forest, I too have left the bleary half light of atheism; like a salmon I have reached a flowing brook.

This prince, this beam of light, Sangharakshita, is the only one who dissolves the darkness. This man Sangharakshita is a world of wisdom and a continent of understanding. He is a teacher who Dharma is the Way the Buddha taught, instant, immediate and visible all around, eroding desire without harmful side-effects, with nothing like it anywhere else in the world.

There is no moment for me, however small, that is spent away from him, from this world of wisdom, this continent of understanding, this teacher whose Dharma is the Way the Buddha taught, instant, immediate and visible all around, eroding desire without harmful side-effects, with nothing like it anywhere else in the world.

With his Adisthana portrait in my wallet it is possible for me to see him with my eyes and with my mind, in night as well as day. And since I spend my nights studying his books, there is not one single moment spent away from him.

I cannot now move from the teaching of Sangharakshita: the powers of confidence and joy, of intellect and awareness, hold me there.

Whichever way this continent of wisdom goes he draws me with him.

Physically, he cannot lead me on retreat. His body is decaying, he is old and frail – but the driving power of his purposeful thought propels me with it without break.

Bhante’s words are the words of a man of wisdom. As I hear them I become more confident. This man is Sambodhisattva: he has opened the curtains and woken up. There is nothing barren there; his mind is clear and luminous.

Everything accessible in the sutra-treasure is known to him, even the ultimate subtleties of sunyata. There are endless questions for the doubtful who come to him: the teacher can answer them all.

Yes, I shall go there. I shall go to Guhyaloka, I shall go beyond provisional; I shall go beyond myself. There are no more doubts. You may consider my mind as a mind engaged.

 

 Original text adapted by the Triratna Buddhist Community for recitation

 

They call him Buddha. Enlightened, Awake, dissolving darkness, with total vision. Knowing the world to its ends, he has gone beyond all the states of being and of becoming. He has no inner poison-drives: he is the total elimination of suffering. This man is the man I follow.
 
Like a bird that leaves the bushes of the scrubland and flies to the fruit trees of the forest, I too have left the bleary half light of opinions; like a swan I have reached a great lake.
 
This prince, this beam of light, Gotama, is the only one who dissolves the darkness. This man Gotama is a universe of wisdom and a world of understanding. He is a teacher who Dharma is the Way Things Are, instant, immediate and visible all around, eroding desire without harmful side-effects, with nothing like it anywhere else in the world.
 
There is no moment for me, however small, that is spent away from him, from this universe of wisdom, this world of understanding, this teacher whose Dharma is the Way Things Are, instant, immediate and visible all around, eroding desire without harmful side-effects, with nothing like it anywhere else in the world.
 
With careful and constant vigilance it is possible for me to see him with my mind as clearly as with my eyes, in night as well as day. And since I spend my nights revering him, there is not one single moment spent away from him.
 
I cannot now move from the teaching of Gotama: the powers of confidence and joy, of intellect and awareness, hold me there.
Whichever way this universe of wisdom goes it draws me with it.
 
Physically, I cannot move like that – my body is decaying, I am old and weak – but the driving power of purposeful thought propels me with it without break.
 
The Buddha’s words are the words of a man of wisdom. As I hear them I become more confident. This man is Sambuddha: he has opened the curtains and woken up. There is nothing barren there; his mind is clear and luminous.
 
Everything accessible to knowledge is known to him, even the ultimate subtleties of godhood. There are no more questions for the doubtful who come to him: the teacher has answered them all.
 
Yes, I shall go there. I shall go beyond change, I shall go beyond formations; I shall go beyond comparison. There are no more doubts. You may consider my mind as a mind released.
